Federation of Scottish Theatrelogo-fst-text

Strategy Development

In December 2019 FST members agreed to develop an sector-led strategy to support theatre and dance in Scotland to thrive.  Alice McGrath, independent facilitator, mentor, and arts manager has been appointed as Strategy Development Lead.  In May 2020 the FST membership agreed that a sector-led strategy needed to reach beyond the FST membership to ensure that it is diverse and inclusive and listens to the all the voices that need to be heard.

At the FST members’ meeting in June 2020 we shared our planned approach to the Strategy Development and the outline of a sector SWOT analysis – we greatly appreciated members input to this.  Since June we have been exploring some highlighted key issues further and reflecting on how best to develop the sector-led strategy during this time.  We are revising our approach to take account of the current difficult circumstances for our members and the wider sector and we are hopeful that our adapted plan will work to give a wide representation in the development of the strategy.  

Key issues working groups

Would you like to be involved in one of the working groups? Send your expression of interest by 28 August – find out more here.

As part of the development process we want to establish ‘Key Issues’ Working Groups to assist sector learning, development and depth of thinking on the issues we face and to help inform strategic goals and actions. The Key Issues have been identified through our strategy and advocacy work–prior to and since Covid -as well as our
ongoing communications with members.

The Working Groups will focus on:

  • Equalities, diversity and inclusion
  • Workforce stability, fair-work and wellbeing
  • Economics and Infrastructure
  • Audience and community connection
  • International activity
  • Environment

If you’d like to join one of the working groups, see more information at the link above and apply by 12pm on 28 August.

To talk to us about the strategy please contact the FST Director Jude Henderson or the FST Strategy Development Lead Alice McGrath.