Federation of Scottish Theatrelogo-fst-text

FST Touring Code of Practice

This Code of Practice and the associated guidance and templates are intended to provide a practical support framework for touring in Scotland. They have been developed by the FST Touring Strategy Group whose membership represents a cross-section of our membership and was endorsed by our members at their meeting on 28 March 2019. This document is a work in progress and will develop as experience of the Touring Fund grows. Comments on how they work in practice are very welcome.

The Touring Strategy Group will develop:

  • a shared vision for successful, sustainable, accessible and excellent touring dance and theatre in Scotland and beyond, focusing on the outcomes we would want to see in an improved scenario
  • a strategy to deliver the vision, which will include recommendations where appropriate to Creative Scotland to improve the funding environment for touring dance & theatre 
  • an implementation plan for the strategy 
  • a ‘pledge’/code of practice to support behavioural change 
  • approaches to ensure that the sector as a whole is well-informed about audiences, both current and potential, with a particular focus on motivations as part of this they will instigate Collaborative Audience Research
  • platforms to share learning, experiences and good practice 
  • new models to support the sector, including exploring the potential for a local authority support network and a mid-scale touring consortia
Membership of the Touring Strategy Working Group:

Liam Sinclair, Byre Theatre and Alice McGrath, Red Bridge Arts

Viktoria Begg, Dundee Rep; Emyr Bell, NEAT;
Linda Crooks, Traverse Theatre; Aiyana D’Arcangelo, Scottish Dance Theatre; Verity Leigh, Summerhall/ Magnetic North; Ed Littlewood, Ed Littlewood Productions; Michael Emans, Rapture Theatre; Emma Jayne Park, Cultured Mongrel; Brenna Hobson, National Theatre of Scotland; Julie Tait, Culture Republic; Ross McKay, Tortoise in a Nutshell; Jen Paterson, All or Nothing; Angie Dight, Mischief La Bas; Simon Hart, Puppet Animation; Jo Walmsey, Tramway; Janice Gilmour, Palace Complex; Belinda McElhinney, Barrowland Ballet; Charlotte Mountford, Lyth Arts; David Leddy, Fire Exit; Rob Heaslip, Rob Heaslip Dance; Julie Ellen, Macrobert