Federation of Scottish Theatrelogo-fst-text

Technical Advisory Group on Safer Systems (TAGSS)

The Federation of Scottish Theatre and Festivals Edinburgh has convened a Technical Advisory Group on Safer Systems, to support the route towards re-opening at a viable scale for the performing arts across Scotland by sharing information and good practice widely across the sector and providing a focal point for discussion with national authorities.  

Papers and outcomes from the group will be published on this page.

Lead Officers

Fiona Sturgeon Shea, CEO, Federation of Scottish Theatre
Julia Amour, Director, Festivals Edinburgh

Group Membership

Ruth Butterworth, Convenor and Co-Chair, Freelance
Robin Townley, CEO, ABTT 
Phillip Brown, Head of Risk and Safety, SOLT/ UK Theatre
Ann Monfries/ Sebastian Howell, Scottish Government
Louise Gregory, Production Manager, Freelance
Fi Fraser, Production Manager, Freelance
John Robb, Technical Director,
Edinburgh International Festival
Nik Whybrew, Operations Director,
Assembly Roxy Theatre/ Assembly Festival

Kevin Kimber, Head of Participant Services,
Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society
Jennie Green, Director, Great Leap Forward 
David Butterworth, Head of Production, The Lyceum
Graham Sutherland, Head of Production, Citizens Theatre
John Pike, Head of Technical Services, Horsecross Arts
Nick Trueman, Head of Production, Pitlochry Festival Theatre 
Tom Barnes, Co-Director, Lyth Arts Centre
Gemma Swallow, Technical Director, National Theatre of Scotland
Yolanda Aguilar, Executive Director, Shaper Caper

TAGSS Documents

Click the download links below to view resources

  • TAGSS Terms of Reference, Date: 5 February 2021 – Download
  • TAGSS Meeting Minutes, Date: 18 February 2021 – Download
  • TAGSS Meeting Minutes, Date: 25 March 2021 – Download
  • Summary of TAGSS Responses to SG draft guidance, Date: 23 April 2021 – Download
    Calculating physical distancing capacity in public settings